73°F
Sponsored by

Austin assessed 4-stroke penalty at PGA Championship

<p>Woody Austin was assessed a 4-stroke penalty at the PGA Championship Friday for having 15 clubs in his bag.</p>

Rochester, NY (Sports Network) - Woody Austin was assessed a 4-stroke penalty at the PGA Championship Friday for having 15 clubs in his bag.

The Sanderson Farms Championship winner discovered he had an extra club in his bag while on the third hole and promptly reported himself to a rules official after completing his par putt.

The penalty, which under rule 4-4 adds two strokes for each hole played with an extra club to a maximum of four strokes, dropped Austin to 4-over for the tournament.

Austin made up some of the penalty with back-to-back birdies at the fifth and sixth, but then bogeyed the ninth to fall back to 3-over and currently sits a stroke above the projected cut line at the turn.

Page: [[$index + 1]]
comments powered by Disqus