Sponsored by

Fireworks Season Gets Underway, Burn Bans Still in Effect

Only three out of the more than two-dozen West Texas counties are not under a burn ban.
TEXAS (Local Big 2 News) - Fourth of July is just right around the corner, and fireworks season is officially underway.

Tuesday kicks off one of two firework seasons in the state.

From June 24 - July 4 at midnight, firework stands all across the state can open up 24 hours a day.

However, just because you can buy them doesn't mean you can pop them.

Currently, Midland and Ector county have restriction on the type of fireworks people are allowed to light.

For example. in Ector county, certain fireworks such as "skyrockets with sticks" or "missiles with fins" are prohibited.

Midland and Ector county are also both under a burn ban.

The ongoing drought keeps most of our West Texas counties under a burn ban.

According to the Texas Forest Service, only three out of the more than two dozen West Texas counties allow outdoor burning.

The Texas Forest Service reports Martin, Loving.. and Reagan counties are the only ones in our area that are not under a burn ban.

Click below for a look at the latest burn bans:
Page: [[$index + 1]]
comments powered by Disqus